The Department of Computer Science hosts the graduate school, and the dean also serves as director of the PhD program:

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Deßloch (dean)
  • Prof. Dr. Jens Schmitt (vice dean)

PhD board

The PhD board decides on admission to the PhD program and awards scholarships.


  • Prof. Dr. Didier Stricker (chairman)
  • Prof. Dr. Hans Hagen (vice chairman)
  • Prof. Dr. Pascal Schweizer
  • M. Hohenstein
  • M. Köhler (student representative)

PhD program manager

The PhD program manager is your contact person for questions about the admission, process and provides general information on the graduate school and the PhD program.

  • Dr. Annette Bieniusa

Dean's office

The Dean's office handles all administrative matters after your successful admission and registration.

  • Dr. habil. Bernd Schürmann (managing director)
  • Sabine Owens (secretary)